TWILLINGATE ISLANDS - ICEBERG CAPITAL OF THE WORLD
Freemasonry in Twillingate started on October 21st, 1889, after nine local Masons applied to and received from the United Grand Lodge of England its warrant to operate as Twillingate Masonic Lodge No. 2364. Originally holding their meetings in a room at the local courthouse, in 1906 they erected the current structure where it has operated continuously to this day.
Twillingate Masonic Lodge is a unique example of Classically influenced vernacular architecture in a wooden building. The Classical Revival style is typical for Masonic Lodges. Classical elements of the structure, such as pedimented rain-caps, are intended as a visual link to the acclaimed ancient history of Freemasonry. It is topped by an ovoid dome, an Orientalist ornamentation not uncommon in Masonic buildings.
The stamped tin ceiling of the upstairs Lodge Room, imported from England at the time of construction, is ornately decorated with masonic symbols and the room is furnished with original furniture, some of which were made by the masons themselves. On entering the room, few are not immediately inspired.
With a maximum occupancy of 85, the downstairs hall is available for rent and is suitable for weddings, parties, dances, dart tournaments, musical performances, dinners, conferences, training sessions, etc. It is equipped with a licensed bar, Internet/wi-fi, and commercial kitchen.
Free tours are available from late June to late August each year, 9AM – 4 PM, Tuesday - Saturday. Special guided tours by Masons are available by request. Give yourself 30 – 45 minutes when you visit.
111 Main Stree, Twillingate, NL A0G 4M0